Virginia

Food Safety & Defense Taskforce

Virginia

Food Safety & Defense Taskforce

Virginia

Food Safety & Defense Taskforce

Members

  1. Members

The membership of the Task Force includes representation by government, industry, academia, consumers, elected officials and other interested parties. The Task Force should be composed of 26 voting members.

Interested in joining?   https://redcap.link/VAFPTFMembership

2023 VFPTF Board

Elected:

Chair –   Kelsey Holloman, MPH

Foodborne Disease Epidemiology Program Manager

Virginia Department of Health

Division of Surveillance and Investigation | Office of Epidemiology

Office: (804)864-8106 

Email: Kelsey.holloman@vdh.virginia.gov

Vice Chair – Caroline C. Wilkinson

Virginia Rapid Response Team Feed Subject Matter Expert 

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Agriculture Commodities Program

Office:(804) 371.2303 

Email: caroline.wilkinson@vdacs.virginia.gov

Secretary – Dr. Lauren Turner, Ph.D.

Foodborne and Advanced Pathogen Characterization Lead Scientist

Department of General Services

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services

Office: (804) 648-4480 ext. 122

Email: lauren.turner@dgs.virginia.gov

Member At Large- Alexis Hamilton 

Assistant Professor Food Processing 

Food Science and Technology Dept., Virginia Tech

Email:ahamilton@vt.edu

                                                                       

APPOINTED MEMBERS:

Academia:

Laura K Strawn, PhD,

Assistant Professor, Extension Specialist, Produce Food Safety,

Food Science and Technology Dept., 

Virginia Tech- Eastern Shore AREC

Phone: 757-414-0724

Email: Lstrawn@vt.edu

 

Industry:  

Corrin A. Howard, MPH

WAWA

Senior Analyst, Food Safety Compliance

Email: Corrin.Howard@wawa.com

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services:

Rashelly Bland, CP-FS

Food Safety Manager

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Office of Dairy and Foods; Food Safety Program

Office: (804) 217-2424

Email: Rashelly.bland@vdacs.virginia.gov

Virginia Department of Health:  VFPTF Newsletter Editor

MaryBeth Demarco 

Foodborne Disease Epidemiologist

Division of Surveillance and Investigation (DSI) | Office of Epidemiology (OEPI) 

Virginia Department of Health

 Office: (804) 864-7346  

 Email: marybeth.demarco@vdh.virginia.gov

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services:

Jessica Maitland, PhD 

Lead Scientist, Department of General Services, 

Division of Consolidated Laboratory Services

Office: (804) 648-4480

Email: Jessica.maitland@dgs.virginia.gov

 

ADVISORY BOARD:

Karen Bergin

Food Safety Manager, Food Safety Program

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Office 804.584.6863 

E-mail: karen.bergin@vdacs.virginia.gov

Pamela Miles

Program Manager Office of Dairy and Food,

Virginia Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services

Phone: 804-786-0412

Email: pamela.miles@vdacs.virginia.gov

Olivia K. McCormick

Division Director, Food and General Environmental Services

Office of Environmental Health Services

Virginia Department of Health

Office- 804-864-8146

Email: Olivia.mccormick@vdh.virginia.gov

Kenya Moon, Retail Food Specialist, FDA Office of State Cooperative Programs, 

Office of Regulatory Affairs, 

U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Human & Animal Foods Division 2 East

Email: kenya.moon@fda.hhs.gov

Valeria A. Moore, MPH, REHS, CP-FS

Lieutenant Commander, U.S. Public Health Service

Emergency Response Coordinator/Investigator, Baltimore District Office, 

Human & Animal Foods Division 2 East

Email: valeria.moore@fda.hhs.gov

Contact Us

Email us by sending a note

VFPTF Newsletter

Interested in joining?

Inspection Report

Restaurant Inspection Report website.